Cool Toys Pic of the day – Blekko

-blekko

Blekko:
http://beta.blekko.com/

“I expect everyone of my crowd to make fun
Of my proud protestations of faith in romance,
And they’ll say I’m naïve as a babe to believe
Every fable I hear from a person in pants.”

I got my Beta invite from Blekko today. I promise, I will do a fuller
blogpost soon (at least I hope it is soon). Just a lick and a promise
for today. I am having a “crush at first glance” reaction to it. I
have to rein myself back in, do a proper test, comparison, put it
through its paces, find the weak points, the strengths, the
appropriate applications of both, all that jazz. But my
lick-and-a-promise reaction is … stars in my eyes.

Basically, Blekko seems to be a search engine that facilitates a
really rich social media focused blend of custom search experience
blended with traditional search. In my initial exploration I not only
found the interface easy to use and understand, but the search results
brought me things I not only wanted but had not even imagined existed.
It is one thing to go looking for a specific type of item and then
find something that fits that imagined bill of fare. I’m pretty good
as a Google searcher and can usually find something if I imagine
clearly what I’m looking for first. But it is a rare experience to
have a search engine bring me things I hadn’t imagined wanting because
I hadn’t imagine them existing, but I did want them. (Oh, I did, I
did, I DID!)

In their words:

“slash the web!

blekko is a better way to search the web by using slashtags. slashtags
search only the sites you want and cut out the spam sites. use
friends, experts, community or your own slashtags to slash in what you
want and slash out what you don’t.

web search bill of rights

1. Search shall be open
2. Search results shall involve people
3. Ranking data shall not be kept secret
4. Web data shall be readily available
5. There is no one-size-fits-all for search
6. Advanced search shall be accessible
7. Search engine tools shall be open to all
8. Search & community go hand-in-hand
9. Spam does not belong in search results
10. Privacy of searchers shall not be violated”

Blekko: About:
http://beta.blekko.com/ws/%20/about

2 thoughts on “Cool Toys Pic of the day – Blekko

Leave a Reply

